Ed Stout draws first start in 14th SCORE Terribles Primm 300
Off-road Racing News

Ed Stout draws first start in 14th SCORE Terribles Primm 300

Ed Stout draws first start in SCORE Trophy-Truck

For next month’s 14th SCORE Terrible’s Primm 300

SCORE’s 36th season continues Sept. 11-13 with nearly 125 entries

Expected in 18 Pro & 2 Sportsman classes for cars and trucks

    LOS ANGELES—Ever-improving desert racer Ed Stout, Irvine, Calif., has drawn the first start in the featured SCORE Trophy-Truck division in the computerized drawing for starting positions for next month’s 14th Annual SCORE Terrible’s Primm 300 desert race. Round 4 of the five-race 2009 SCORE Desert Series will be held Sept. 11-13 in Primm, Nev.

     In a sport where there is rarely qualifying and no open pre-running (in the U.S.), the drawing for start positions has added significance and Stout’s No. 13 Stout Industries Ford F-150 SCORE Trophy-Truck was selected randomly in Saturday’s computerized drawing at the SCORE Int’l headquarters in Los Angeles.

     The 14th Annual SCORE Terrible’s Primm 300 will feature 18 Pro and 2 Sportsman classes for cars and trucks in Primm, located 45 miles south of Las Vegas at the California border. This year’s starting grid is expected to reach nearly 125 vehicles.  Late entries will be accepted up until race morning.

     Sitting an impressive third in season points in SCORE Trophy-Truck behind NASCAR regular Robby Gordon (No. 77 Chevy CK1500) and Las Vegas veteran Brian Collins (No. 12 Dodge Ram1500), Stout, 43, has consistently driven the truck built in his own race shop to near the top of the sport’s featured racing division. He started the year with a third place in Laughlin and followed by solid finishes in both San Felipe (eighth place) and Ensenada (13th place).

     A total of 23 SCORE Trophy-Trucks, the marquee SCORE racing division for high-tech, 800-horsepower unlimited production trucks entered in time for Saturday’s start draw.

     Seven of last year’s class winners have entered so far, including six of last year’s top 10 overall finishers.

     “We are having a really, really good season and to be third in SCORE Trophy-Truck points after three of five races is kind of like living a dream,” said Stout and Orange County businessman who deals in the world of computers. “We built our race truck from the ground up and are proud to see it perform at this level.  By drawing the first starting position for Primm, we now have a wonderful opportunity to really show that we belong in the league with our sport’s elite. I sincerely hope I’m up to that challenge.”

     Starting behind the 23 SCORE Trophy-Trucks will be the unlimited Class 1 for open-wheel desert race cars, which also had 11 entries in the start draw.  In the first 13 years of the SCORE Las Vegas Primm 300, SCORE Trophy-Trucks have nine Overall race wins while Class 1 has four. SCORE Trophy-Trucks have won six straight overall titles.

     Drawing the first starting spot in Class 1 was the veteran Southern California team of Richard Boyle, Ridgecrest, and Tom Kirkmeyer, Apple Valley, in the No. 101 Chevy-powered Jefferies open-wheel desert race car. The Boyle/Kirkmeyer team is currently tied for eighth place in Class 1 season points.

      Eric Solorzano, Tijuana, Mexico, has the most class wins in the SCORE Terrible’s Primm 300. Solorzano has won Class 11 in eight of the first 13 years of this race in a VW Sedan. Donald Moss, Sacramento, Calif., is third on the all-time list with six Class 3 wins in a Ford Bronco, including the last five straight years.

     Roger Norman, Reno, Nev./Larry Roeseler, Alpine, Calif., return as the defending overall and SCORE Trophy-Truck winner in the No. 8 Norman Motorsports Ford F-150 and they drew the XXth starting position in the class.

     Behind SCORE Trophy-Truck and Class 1, the class with the most entries in time for the drawing was Class 1-2/1600 with 10.

     The highly-competitive 2009 SCORE Desert Series has 20 racers separated by just 39 points in the Overall standings after the 15th SCORE Laughlin Desert Challenge, 23rd Tecate SCORE San Felipe 250 and 41st Tecate SCORE Baja 500 desert races.

     Drawing first start in Class 1-2/1600 was the team of Brian Wilson, 23, of Long Beach, Calif., and Las Vegas’ Sammy Ehrenberg, 44, who will split the driving in the No. 1601 Kreger-VW in Primm. Part of the five vehicle Wilson Motorsports team that will be competing in this year’s SCORE Terrible’s Primm 300, Wilson and Ehrenberg are also the Class 1-2/1600 season point leaders.

     SCORE officials expect to announce this week the final race format, course distance and other race-related details following completion of extensive negotiations with the Bureau of Land Management and the U.S. Department of Fish and Wildlife.

     The 2009 SCORE Desert Series also includes the quest for the Toyota Milestone Awards for car and truck racers who complete every required mile of the season.

     Current SCORE official annual sponsors are: BFGoodrich Tires-official tire, Volkswagen of America-official vehicle, Sunoco Race Fuels -official fuel supplier, Bilstein-official shock, Instant Mexico Auto Insurance-official Mexican auto insurance, Slime-official tire sealant and Red Bull–official energy drink. Associate sponsors are: Tecate Beer, Coca-Cola of Mexico, Las Vegas Events, Terrible Herbst Inc., Blue C Enthusiast Advertising, American Suzuki, SignPros, P.C.I. Race Radios, McKenzie’s Performance Products and Advanced Color Graphics.

     Co-title sponsors for the 14th SCORE Las Vegas Primm 300 are Las Vegas Events and Terrible Herbst Inc.

      For more information, contact SCORE at its Los Angeles headquarters 818.225.8402 or visit the official website of the 2009 SCORE Desert Series at www.score-international.com.

12th Annual SCORE Las Vegas Primm 300

Official Entries-76 (as of 8/9/09)

(From 12 States, Austria, Canada, Germany and Mexico)

(Starting Order, By Class)

Pro Cars & Trucks


13 Ed Stout

50 Jason McNeil

3 Mark Post

53 Rick Thomas

51 Kory Scheeler

11 Greg Nunley

77 Robby Gordon

22 Damen Jefferies

1 B.J. Baldwin

9 Mark Weyhrich

68 Marc Ewing

89 Rusty Stevens

2 Pete Sohren

30 Robbie Pierce

16 Cameron Steele

24 Adam Householder

23 Mark McMillin

6 Steve Sourapas

8 Roger Norman

96 Bobby Baldwin

20 Mike Julson

12 Brian Collins

7 Scott Steinberger

CLASS 1 (11)

101 Richard Boyle

102 Jerry Penhall

103 Armin Kremer

104 Brian Parkhouse

105 Terry Householder

106 Dale Lenk

107 Ronny Wilson

108 Josh Daniel

109 Armin Schwarz

110 Randy Wilson

111 Pat Dean

CLASS 1-2/1600 (10)

1601 Brian Wilson

1602 Mario Gastelum

1603 Arturo Velazco

1604 Daniel McMillin

1605 David Caspino

1606 Cody Robinson

1607 Christopher Fogle

1608 Brad Wilson

1609 Luke McMillin

1610 Justin Smith

CLASS 3 (2)

300 Donald Moss

301 Daniel Wright

CLASS 5 (2)

500 Kevin Carr

501 Shaun Dunbar

CLASS 5/1600 (2)

551 Alonso Angulo

550 Marcos Nunez

CLASS 6 (2)

608 Heidi Steele

609 Gregg Hempel

CLASS 7 (1)

700 Dan Chamlee


741 Jeff Fuller

759 John Holmes


781 Wes Bevly IV

CLASS 8 (1)

839 Clyde Stacy

CLASS 10 (6)

1001 Corey Keysar

1002 Steve Restivo

1003 Jose Gonzalez

1004 Lonny Hart

1000 Mike Lawrence

1049 Jose Lynch


1201 Bill Hernquist

1202 John Langley

1203 Ronny Wilson

1204 Ty Godde

1205 Zak Langley

1206 Jerry Longo

1207 John Padgett

1249 Brent Parkhouse

CLASS 11 (1)

1149 Eric Solorzano


878 Joe Bacal

879 Justin Matney


779 Gavin Skilton

CLASS 2 (1)

201 Dee Savage

Related posts

In Memory of Brandon Smith


42nd Annual Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 Results Story


Rob MacCachren to Campaign Stronghold Motorsports Pro 4 Unlimited at LOORS at Miller Motorsport Park