Off Road Racing Features

SCORE Terribles 300 2010

Jesse Jones Wins SCORE Terrible’s 300 2010

 It was a hot afternoon in Primm for the start of the second race in the 15th annual SCORE Las Vegas Terrible’s Primm 300 desert race.


The unfortunate event that happened at the MDR race in California seems to have had an impact on this race too. Even media were unable to go place we used to be able to go in the Primm area. This certainly didn’t stop race fans from coming out, though they were caged in like animals behind chain link fences, the crowds were huge.

Starting 15th in a pack 30 Jesse Jones, passed many of the top names in the SCORE series like leader Andy McMillin on the final lap and holding off Robbie Pierce with an adjusted time of 4:46:39. Jones averaged 57.44 MPH for the race.

Robbie Pierce

Robbie Pierce and Mike Julson took second overall and second in Trophy Truck with a time of 4:50:08 (56.75 MPH).

Armin Schwartz

Taking third place overall was the German team of Armin Schwartz and Martin Christensen that also took the 1st place win in Class 1 with a time of 4:51:30 (56.48 MPH).

Gary Weyhrich

Fourth overall and third in Trophy Truck was the brother team of Gary and Mark Weyhrich that finished without penalty in the #9 TSCO Racing F-150 with a time of 4:59:17 (55.01 MPH).

Rounding out the top 5 was another Trophy Truck team. Dave Crinklaw, and Mike Thurlow in their #27 Chevy Silverado finished with a time of 5:01:51 (54.54 MPH).

 Remaining Top Finishers of the 2010 SCORE Terrible’s 300

The sixth through 10th place overall finishers in Primm were: Kory Scheeler, Las Vegas, Ford F-150 (SCORE Trophy-Truck), Ronny Wilson, Long Beach, Calif./John Herder, Tucson, Ariz., Jimco-Chevy (Class 1), Josh Daniel, Canyon Lake, Calif., Racer-Chevy (Class 1), Justin Smith, Capistrano Beach, Calif., Penhall-Chevy (Class 1) and Pete Sohren, Phoenix, Ford F-150 (SCORE Trophy-Truck).

Other Class winners include:
CLASS 1-2/1600 (VW-powered, single or two-seaters to 1600cc)–1. Kevin Smith, LaVerne, Calif., Mirage, 5:49:29 (47.65 mph).

CLASS 3 (Short wheelbase 4X4, 2 laps, 137.20 miles)–1. Donald Moss, Sacramento, Calif./Ken Moss, Marysville, Calif., Ford Bronco, 3:52:52 (35.35 mph).

CLASS 5 (Unlimited VW Baja Bugs, 3 laps, 205.80 miles)–1. Kevin Carr/Mario Hernandez, San Diego, 4:42:46 (43.82 mph).

CLASS 5/1600 (1600cc VW Baja Bugs, 3 laps, 205.80 miles)–1. Gustavo Avina, Ensenada, Mexico, 4:49:20 (42.68 mph).

CLASS 6 (Unlimited production mini trucks, 3 laps, 205.80 miles)–1. Dave Caspino, Woodland Hills, Calif./Robert Mason, Valley Center, Calif., Ford Ranger, 4:25:07 (47.02 mph).

CLASS 7 (Open, production mini trucks, 3 laps, 205.80 miles)–1. Dan Chamlee/Tom Chamlee, Carpenteria, Calif., Ford Ranger, 4:27:15 (46.29 mph).

CLASS 7SX (Modified, open mini trucks, 3 laps, 205.80 miles)–1. Norm Turley/Trevor Turley, Long Beach, Calif., Ford Ranger, 6:00:12 (34.28 mph).

CLASS 8 (Full-sized two-wheel drive trucks, 3 laps, 205.80 miles)–1. Juan C. Lopez, Tecate, Mexico, Ford F-150, 4:14:25 (48.53 mph).

CLASS 9 (Short wheelbase, single or two-seaters, 2 laps, 137.20 miles)–1. Eduardo Laguna, Mexicali, Mexico, TRFab, 3:52:10 (35.46 mph).

CLASS 10 (Single or two-seaters to 1650cc)– 1. Alex Crosthwaite/Jose Gonzalez, San Diego, Jimco-Honda, 6:03:33 (45.80 mph).

SCORE LITE (VW-powered, Limited single-1776cc-or two-seaters-1835cc)–1. Perry McNeil, Lemon Grove, Calif./Alfie Bueno, El Cajon, Calif., Lothringer, 5:24:22 (50.91 mph).

STOCK FULL (Stock, Full-sized trucks, 2 laps, 137.20 miles)–1. Joe Bacal, Anthem, Ariz., Lexus LX570, 3:52:15 (35.44 mph).

STOCK MINI (Stock, Mini-sized trucks, 2 laps, 137.20 miles)–1. Justin Matney, Bristol, Tenn./Joshua Drake, Johnson City, Tenn., Ford Ranger, 5:23:02 (25.48 mph).

PROTRUCK (Limited, production trucks, 3 laps, 205.80 miles)–1. Troy Vest, Mollalla, Ore./Alan Levinson, Blue Diamond, Nev., Chevy Silverado, 4:23:14 (47.27 mph).

CLASS 17 (Class 3, Modified Jeeps, 2 laps, 137.20 miles)–1. Mike Shaffer, San Leandro, Calif., Jeep Cherokee, 4:25:39 (30.99 mph).

CLASS 7-2 (Unlimited 2.2/2.4-Liter Truck, 3 laps, 205.80 miles)– 1. Reid Rutherford, Montrose, Colo./Dana Dague, Huntington Beach, Calif., Mason-Chevy, 5:08:36 (40.74 mph).

CLASS 4 (Unlimited, 2.2 Liter open-wheel car, 3 laps, 205.80 miles)–1. John Langley/Morgan Langley, Santa Monica, Calif., Racer-Chevy, 6:36:40 (44.39 mph).

Other Highlights of the Race



SCORE Terrible’s 300 2010 Jesse Jones Wins

Related posts

SNORE Rage at the River Off-Road Race 2010


Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series Round 11 and 12


Best in the Desert Henderson Fabtech Desert Classic Race